2017 Oscar Predictions

In honor of tonight’s ceremony (and to make up for the lack of a Raw Reaction), I’ve decided to throw together a brief blog of my predictions as to who will go home with the gold. Without further ado, here are the 2017 Academy Award nominations!

Bolded are my predictions, italicized are my second guesses, or runner-ups of sorts.

Best Picture

  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Hell or High Water
  • Hidden Figures
  • La La Land
  • Lion
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight

Who are you kidding if you don’t believe La La Land is actually going to singlehandedly sweep these awards? Otherwise, Moonlight, having won Best Drama Picture at the Golden Globes, is a strong contender (the reason I didn’t choose it as my first guess being that I get the feeling the Golden Globes were too good to be true and now the Academy’s going to smack us down like the hand of god again). Personally, I’m still holding out for Hidden Figures, but unfortunately, making predictions means being realistic.

Directing

  • Denis Villeneuve, Arrival
  • Mel Gibson, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Damien Chazelle, La La Land
  • Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

I mean. However, I felt there was some significant backlash when Moonlight only took home one Golden Globe, so fingers crossed I’m wrong?

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
  • Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Ryan Gosling, La La Land
  • Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
  • Denzel Washington, Fences

All I have to say on this: please don’t let me be wrong. And if I am wrong, I never want to be right.

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Isabelle Huppert, Elle
  • Ruth Negga, Loving
  • Natalie Portman, Jackie
  • Emma Stone, La La Land
  • Meryl Streep, Florence Foster Jenkins

I have just a little more faith in Emma than Ryan at this point, but Ruth would literally be such an amazing upset, I’m crossing all my fingers and toes that I’m way off on this one. (Also, I’m still bitter Taraji P. Henson wasn’t nominated. She was it for me.)

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Viola Davis, Fences
  • Naomie Harris, Moonlight
  • Nicole Kidman, Lion
  • Octavia Spencer, Hidden Figures
  • Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

It has to be Viola, and if not her, then Octavia. They dominate, okay. Failing that, probably Nicole Kidman.

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
  • Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water
  • Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea
  • Dev Patel, Lion
  • Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Mahershala Ali surprised me on Luke Cage, he surprised me in Hidden Figures, and then he surprised me in Moonlight. I don’t know why — at this point, I’m already well aware he’s extremely talented, but he does me in every time. The Academy would have to be void of all five senses to miss that. Otherwise? Dev Patel. I remember Slumdog Millionaire, and yes, please.

Adapted Screenplay

  • Arrival, Eric Heisserer
  • Fences, August Wilson
  • Hidden Figures, Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi
  • Lion, Luke Davies
  • Moonlight, Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney

You should know by now how much I want this for Hidden Figures, but I can’t deny Moonlight or Lion. I’ll be pleasantly surprised if Hidden Figures comes through though.

Original Screenplay

  • Hell or High Water, Taylor Sheridan
  • La La Land, Damien Chazelle
  • The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou
  • Manchester by the Sea, Kenneth Lonergan
  • 20th Century Women, Mike Mills

Animated Feature Film

  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Moana
  • My Life as a Zucchini
  • The Red Turtle
  • Zootopia

Both so, so worthy. I’m leaning towards Moana, but with everything that’s happening (not that the Academy cares for politics or, you know, inclusiveness in some cases), Zootopia’s in the lead for me, especially after the Globes.

Foreign Language Film

  • Land of Mine (Denmark)
  • A Man Called Ove (Sweden)
  • The Salesman (Iran)
  • Tanna (Australia)
  • Toni Erdmann (Germany)

I will be the first to say, I have no idea. I still guessed though, because why not?

Documentary Feature

  • Fire at Sea
  • I Am Not Your Negro
  • Life, Animated
  • O.J.: Made in America
  • 13th

Two words: Ava DuVernay. Alas, I might have guessed I Am Not Your Negro (I’ve heard glowing reviews), but O.J. had the mainstream last year.

Cinematography

  • Arrival, Bradford Young
  • La La Land, Linus Sandgren
  • Lion, Greig Fraser
  • Moonlight, James Laxton
  • Silence, Rodrigo Prieto

Film Editing

  • Arrival, Joe Walker
  • Hacksaw Ridge, John Gilbert
  • Hell or High Water, Jake Roberts
  • La La Land, Tom Cross
  • Moonlight, Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Production Design

  • Arrival, Patrice Vermette and Paul Hotte
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock
  • Hail, Caesar! , Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh
  • La La Land, Davis Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco
  • Passengers, Guy Hendrix Dyas and Gene Serdena

I’ll be upfront, I mainly italicized Fantastic Beasts because I’d personally really like to see something Harry Potter related win an Oscar. That, and the scenes in Newt’s suitcase were wild.

Costume Design

  • Allied, Joanna Johnston
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Colleen Atwood
  • Florence Foster Jenkins, Consolata Boyle
  • Jackie, Madeline Fontaine
  • La La Land, Mary Zophres

Okay, yes, La La Land will probably win, but I really do believe Jackie stands a fair chance. You’ll notice I didn’t guess Fantastic Beasts (I did at first, then thought better of it).

Makeup and Hairstyling

  • A Man Called Ove, Eva von Bahr and Love Larson
  • Star Trek Beyond, Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo
  • Suicide Squad, Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini, and Christopher Nelson

It has to be Suicide Squad, right? Regardless of my own personal feelings? Anyone who can transform Jared Leto into that surely deserves an award.

Original Score

  • Jackie, Mica Levi
  • La La Land, Justin Hurwitz
  • Lion, Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka
  • Moonlight, Nicholas Britell
  • Passengers,Thomas Newman

I’m not even playing with a second guess. Also, where’s Hidden Figures? Because Hans Zimmer and Pharrell Williams, that’s why.

Original Song

  • “Audition (The Fools who Dream),” La La Land, music by Justin Hurwitz, lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling,” Trolls, music and lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin, and Karl Johan Schuster
  • “City of Stars,” La La Land, music by Justin Hurwitz, lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
  • “The Empty Chair,” Jim: The James Foley Story, music and lyric by J. Ralph and Sting
  • “How Far I’ll Go,” Moana, music and lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

I know with two La La Land songs on here, this might be bordering on wishful thinking, but we’re still talking about Hamilton, aren’t we?

Sound Editing

  • Arrival, Sylvain Bellemare
  • Deepwater Horizon, Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli
  • Hacksaw Ridge, Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright
  • La La Land, Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan
  • Sully, Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

As much as I want Deepwater to prosper (Dylan O’Brien and Gina Rodriguez!), La La Land is the obvious choice. I have a feeling about Sully though, strangely enough. (That and Arrival.)

Sound Mixing

  • Arrival, Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye
  • Hacksaw Ridge, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie, and Peter Grace
  • La La Land, Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee, and Steve A. Morrow
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson
  • 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi, Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush, and Mac Ruth

This might actually be wishful thinking and I take full responsibility for it. Please let Star Wars win, please. That film deserves way more credit than it received nominations.

Visual Effects

  • Deepwater Horizon, Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Justin Billington, and Burt Dalton
  • Doctor Strange, Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli, and Paul Corbould
  • The Jungle Book, Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Dan Lemmon
  • Kubo and the Two Strings, Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean, and Brad Schiff
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel, and Neil Corbould

Literally anyone could win in this category and I will be happy (Doctor Strange if only for Marvel’s overall sake).

Animated Short Film

  • Blind Vaysha
  • Borrowed Time
  • Pear Cider and Cigarettes
  • Pearl
  • Piper

Where’s Inner Workings at though?

Live Action Short Film

  • Ennemis Intérieurs
  • La Femme et le TGV
  • Silent Nights
  • Sing
  • Timecode

Documentary Short Film

  • Extremis
  • 4.1 Miles
  • Joe’s Violin
  • Watani: My Homeland
  • The White Helmets

Though Watani and The White Helmets share similar subject matter, with everything that’s happening in the world I have a feeling it’ll go to one or the other (I hope so, too).

That’ll do it! In no way do I kid myself thinking that I actually know any better than anyone else who’s predicted the winners thus far — especially considering the fact that I haven’t actually watched every film and performance here — but it’s always fun to see how close we come to reality, so feel free to leave a comment below about your own predictions!

Leave a Reply

